…the Trouble I’ve Seen!

I thought I should probably share an update since my last post, especially since in rereading it I realized how pathetic I sounded! While it does get quite quiet and lonesome here without my family, I am also thankful for all that I’ve been able to accomplish with such a free schedule.

Since arriving, I’ve temporarily taken over the construction schedule with our local, paid employees. Fully managing all of the construction and maintenance needs of the school was not originally part of our plan, but it is very necessary and we have enjoyed working closely with the men on the team. This has provided us with another “point of intervention” in this community and we’ve grown to know and care deeply for many of the guys. We have a fairly ambitious construction plan, especially by local standards, and we have said that we are always about two buildings behind since taking over. Keeping the men equipped, organized and supplied is a very busy job and Drew usually handles this load alone (and very well). For the latest updates on campus, please visit the TES website at estherschool.org.

I have also been using this time of empty buildings to do some minor improvements and updates around campus and in our own houses. Some of these projects are surprises so I can’t share more! Of course, as the campus grows and ages it’s maintenance needs do as well, so keeping up with leaky plumbing, broken door handles and the like is also a busy job, as is tending to the grounds and fruit trees that have been planted and are being nurtured for future production.

With school coming and our numbers on campus about to explode, I’ve also had to do quite a bit of procurement work lately. I have been all over town at least two days each week buying cups, water bottles, beds, mattresses, dressers, food, paint, hardware, tools, and everything else it takes to keep things rolling here. I could never do justice to describing the process required to buy supplies in Zambia, especially if your trying to do so on a budget, but let’s just say its a bit more colorful than in the US!

Finally, I have been spending some time laying the groundwork for the upcoming school year. What a different start from last year! I’ve actually had a chance to prepare some forms, schedules and other paperwork that I hope will prove useful. I’ve also spent some time exploring other facilities, meeting with some experienced and respected missionaries (all of whom have so much to teach me!) and meeting with key local leaders as well. To most here, we Westerners are a peculiar bunch who spend much too much time running around. To keep some balance, I’ve been doing a little business the Zambian way, which involves much more sitting and chatting, but is an excellent way to learn what is really going on around here!

I’ve even managed to relax a bit. I had a nice dinner in town with our dear friends the Kollenhovens the other night (zikomo guys!), met several great new people serving with their organization, visited the House of Moses orphanage in Lusaka several times to catch up with those precious babies, started picking at my guitar I’ve owned for 20 years without ever playing and even caught a football match in the village tonight.

Tomorrow is a national holiday (Farmers Day) so I’ll be working alone around campus and looking forward to being one day closer to picking up my family!

Thanks for the prayers and support!

1 thought on “…the Trouble I’ve Seen!

  1. Hi Kevin,
    We got to see Hudson in church today! He is so adorable! A little shy this morning as I took my husband, Ernie to Dianne’s car so he could meet him and he would cover his eyes! LOL! He will have so much fun in preschool!
    Will pray for traveling mercies as Tina and the boys leave soon to be with you. I know it will be wonderful to be together once again! God’s abundant blessings on each of you and your work for Him there!
    In Christian Friendship, Donnie Waterhouse

Leave a comment